Rasbihari International School has recently been affiliated to the Cambridge International Examinations. This curriculum will provide students with the platform to international exposure to assessment methodologies.

The school follows the Secondary 1 and IGCSE curriculum in affiliation to the University of Cambridge. The benefits of the affiliation are:

International benchmark

Cambridge Secondary 1 incorporates internationally benchmarked tests.
Tests for Cambridge Checkpoint are standardised, set and marked by Cabmbridge, to provide an international benchmark of student achievement enabling teachers to advise learners and parents of the suitability of different progression routes.

Monitoring student progress

Cambridge Progression Tests and analysis software provide detailed feedback on learnersí strengths and weaknesses in the core skills of English, Mathematics and Science at the end of each stage. Schools can use this feedback to improve teaching, support learning and report student progress to parents.

Flexible programme, flexible assessment

Schools can use Cambridge Secondary 1 with other curricula. No part of it is compulsory, so teachers can use the materials to suit their own situation. Teachers can use the progression tests at the end of each stage; or at any point during the year.
Teachers can continue to follow a local curriculum, to meet the statutory requirements of their national system - and at the same time, use the progression tests to enhance their teaching and reporting.

Links to other stages

Cambridge Secondary 1 has been developed to link seamlessly with Cambridge Primary and provides standardised tests to allow careful monitoring of progress from primary to lower secondary phases. It also provides excellent preparation for learners embarking on Cambridge Secondary 2; both for Cambridge IGCSE and Cambridge O Level courses. At the end of the programme, Cambridge Checkpoint assessments are available to provide detailed feedback on learnersí strengths and weaknesses.

Building a curriculum:

Cambridge IGCSE encourages learner-centred and enquiry-based approaches to learning. It develops learnersí skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving, giving learners excellent preparation for the next stage in their education. Schools can build a core curriculum, extend it to suit their learners and introduce cross-curricular perspectives. Clearly defined learning outcomes and content, mean Cambridge IGCSE is compatible with other curricula and is internationally relevant and sensitive to different needs and cultures.

Schools can offer any combination of subjects. Each subject is certificated separately. Over 70 subjects are available, including more than 30 language courses, offering a variety of routes for learners of different abilities. Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:
Subject content
Applying knowledge and understanding to familiar and new situations
Intellectual enquiry
Flexibility and responsiveness to change
Working and communicating in English
Influencing outcomes
Cultural awareness


Assessment for Cambridge IGCSE includes written and oral tests, coursework and practical assessment. Schools have the option of assessing learners using only external examinations or, in most subjects, combining examinations with coursework. Coursework is set and marked by the teacher and externally moderated by Cambridge. Teachers who have received training from Cambridge, or who possess suitable experience of marking coursework may carry out this assessment. In most subjects there is a choice between core and extended curricula, making IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities. Each learnerís performance is benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades. There are clear guidelines which explain the standard of achievement for different grades. Cambridge IGCSE examination sessions occur twice a year, in May/June and October/November. Results are issued in August and January.


Cambridge IGCSE is taken in over 100 countries worldwide and are widely recognised by higher education institutions and employers around the world as evidence of academic ability. Cambridge IGCSE is equivalent to the GCSE in the United Kingdom. In some parts of the world, schools use Cambridge IGCSE as an international alternative to the local government's examination.

Each learner's performance is benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades (A*-G). In some countries, IGCSE qualifications will satisfy the entry requirements for university. In others, they are widely used as a preparation for A Level, AS, International Baccalaureate and US Advanced Placement courses.
Grade C in IGCSE English (both First Language and Second Language) satisfies the English proficiency requirements of many universities in the UK and other anglophone countries.

Exams Cycle

Many different activities need to take place to successfully deliver an exam. The Cambridge Exams Cycle has six phases as shown below: